In project.co there are 2 ways to receive notifications; in-app and by email.

What actions do people receive notifications for?

  • Invited to account

  • Invited to project

  • Comment on project

  • Mentioned on project description

  • Mentioned on project discussion

  • Assigned to task

  • Comment on task

  • Mentioned on task description

  • Mentioned on task discussion

  • Mentioned in note

  • When something changes on a task and the person is a task follower

  • Payment added and the person is selected in the 'notify' box

  • Payment success and the person was selected in the 'notify' box

Notifications rules

We have a simple set of rules to try and reduce the number of emails people get if they are logged in and able to see the notification online first.

If you are logged in then you won't receive an email notification stright away. You will get an in app notification. If you don't view this within an hour then you'll get an email. However if you do view it within an hour then you won't get the email. If you are not logged in then you will get an email instantly.

Default Notification preferences

Every person can set their notification preferences by going to the main welcome page of their account, clicking on the Options button and then choosing "Your Settings".

Your settings

From there everyone can select their preference from the "Project Notifications" select.

The options are:

  • All notifications - This will send the person all notifications.

  • Related notifications only - This will only send them notifications if they are @mentioned somewhere or chosen to be notified.

  • Notifications off - They will not receive notifications.

Please bear in mind that this isn't a global setting, instead it determines their default setting for each time they are added to a new project.

Project Notification Preferences

When people are invited to a project their default notification preference will be used to set their project notifications setting.

This can be changed in the add people and groups modal with the 3 options:

  • All notifications - This will send the person all notifications on the project.

  • Related notifications only - This will only send them notifications if they are @mentioned somewhere within the project or chosen to be notified.

  • Notifications off - They will not receive notifications from the project.

Daily Tasks Email

If you are assigned to a task and it has a due date of today, tomorrow or the date has passed then you will receive a "My Tasks" email each morning to remind you about your tasks.

You can turn this email off by unchecking the "Daily tasks email" checkbox in "Your Settings".

Did this answer your question?