In Project.co V2 a group is a collection of people with a common interest such as a company, team or department.
Important things to know:
You don't need to add people to a group. People can be invited to your account without being assigned to a group. However adding people to a group does have many benefits as described below.
People with a Collaborator or Collaborator Plus role can only see their group. So they won't see groups they are not part of.
People with a Collaborator or Collaborator Plus role can see people in the groups they are part of. This is so that they can invite people to their groups, such as colleagues etc.
Put people who shouldn't see each other (unless they are part of the same project) in different groups. For example 2 client companies who shouldn't see each other.
Create a group for each client company you work with. Then invite the people from that company and assign them to the group.
Create groups for each department or team within your business.
A few common ways to use groups:
An internal team or department - Creating groups for your internal teams means you can filter projects, tasks and time by team or department.
Client companies - Create groups for each client company so you can filter projects, tasks and payments by client group.
A project team - This could be useful for a group of people who will work on a number of projects together and want to track projects, tasks and time for this broader project e.g party planners.
When people with a creator role invite other people to your account they can specify the group those people should be added to.
However, when people with a collaborator role invite people to your account they won't see all the groups within the account. They can only see their group. So they can only add people to their own group.
This can be super useful for many reasons. An example is that you're working with a client and you invite your main contact to your Project.co account. They would also like to invite 2 other people they work with to the account so they can collaborate on the projects. When they invite people they are automatically added to the same group so that they can see each other and you have them within the correct group automatically. This means that groups can build over time as people are invited by other members of the group.
Groups act as filter for projects, tasks, payments and time. What this means is that if you add groups to projects, tasks, payments and time you can then filter your projects, tasks, payments and time by group.
The result of this is that you could show all projects, tasks, payments and time that are allocated to a specific group.
This can be helpful to understand what team, department or client has which projects or tasks ongoing. Or how much time a group has spent on a particular project or task. Or how much money a client owes or has spent with you.
A few examples of things you can achieve with grouping:
See group X's people. (Understand who is on the party planning team)
See group X's projects. (Understand which projects the party planners have on)
See group X's tasks. (Understand which tasks the party planners have in progress)
See group X's payments. (Understand which unpaid payments a client has)
See group X's allocated or actual time. (Understand how much time has been spent planning the Christmas party)
In the example above you can replace the party planners with clients, internal teams, departments or any other group of people you like.
When you create a payment request you can specify the group you are invoicing. The groups invoice information will then also show on the invoice once the payment has been paid.
For example, if you have a company you work with (ABC Corp) set up as a group, when you request a payment for wiork completed on a project you can specify their group on the payment request. In this instance, when they have paid the payment your account invoice details and their (ABC Corp) invoice details will show on the invoice.